Wednesday, February 11, 2015

Review Time #79

The Mime Order by Samantha Shannon

Paige Mahoney has escaped the brutal prison camp of Sheol I, but her problems have only just begun: many of the survivors are missing and she is the most wanted person in London...

As Scion turns its all-seeing eye on the dreamwalker, the mime-lords and mime-queens of the city's gangs are invited to a rare meeting of the Unnatural Assembly. Jaxon Hall and his Seven Seals prepare to take centre stage, but there are bitter fault lines running through the clairvoyant community and dark secrets around every corner. Then the Rephaim begin crawling out from the shadows. But where is Warden? Paige must keep moving, from Seven Dials to Grub Street to the secret catacombs of Camden, until the fate of the underworld can be decided.

Where does one even begin to talk about this book? It was simply amazing with the character and world developments.

The Mime Order starts right where The Bone Season left of, Paige and the others escaping from Sheol I. But only a few manage to escape with their lives. Paige doesn't want to go back to the Seven Dials and work for Jaxon, which is understandable as he treats her like dirt. She wasn't returning until she became the most wanted person in Scion. 

Paige wants to tell everyone about the Rephaim and how to protect themselves against them. Calling for an unnatural assembly to the underlord, she is beat up by the underlord for her request. Everything is turned on its head when the underlord is found murdered. 

Okay enough about all that before I starting spoiling everything! The characters have grown when compared to The Bone Season Paige, Nick and Warden have all developed into better character. Nick! A small part of me loves to have Paige and Nick together even though we know Nick doesn't swing that way. Nick gets a love interest which was fantastic.

Warden, Warden, Warden how you have changed, in a good way. From Part II onwards I just loved having Warden in the story and what he uncovered since coming back from what he was doing at the end of The Bone Season. In The Mime Order we get a new side of Warden and it is flipping amazing. On the Rephaim subject we meet two new ones, who are interesting, I shall leave it at that. 

Paige, girl you are good making people hate you/want to kill you. That being said it was good to see a new side of Paige, the side where she is determined to change things and do a little bit of backstabbing if need. 

Part III will have you in a constant state of oh my freaking god. Not kidding I'm pretty sure I read Part III the quickest because I just had to know what was going on next, until there were no more pages to turn to, need book 3 now! Also the freaking plot twist at the end, like seriously did that happen? 

The Mime Order is the fantastic sequel to The Bone Season, since knowing that it is a 7 book series you can't help but fall in love with the world building and story lines that are being interwoven throughout the book. The Mime Order is a brilliantly written fantasy novel that you can't stop reading and have to know what happens next constantly because it has drawn you in so far that you cannot stop reading it. I absolutely loved it and cannot wait for book 3 now!

Thankyou very much to Bloomsbury Australia for providing this review copy!

Rating: 5/5

Keely xx

No comments:

Post a Comment